Here is where I try to update my life….

Posted: November 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

I suck at blogging. I know this. I think the reason is, well, I have too many other social media obligations. It seems like with facebook and email, texting, and sharing photos, I just can’t have one more thing to add my sunny disposition too. I tried tweeting a few years back but honestly, it’s not my thing. I can’t be confined to only 140 characters or whatever. I’m an “at least 500 characters” type of gal.  But I do think there is some value in blogging. I really do. I read several different blogs actively. Some are friends, some are tarot readers, some are librarians and each of them has that unique voice, that “umph” that makes them special.

People, I’m not sure I have the “umph.” I don’t even know if anything I write here will be of interest to anyone.

But I will never know until I try. And I realize that this blog could be a great way to keep people up-to-date with what I am doing considering I am moving 1,000 miles across country. That’s no small set of footprints.

WHAT?  Yes, that’s right. I’m moving. I scored a lovely job at Wellesley College as their new Research and Instruction Librarian. I am so freaking excited about this. I love Wellesley College!!  I love the people I have met there so far. I even love my tiny little studio apartment that is all of MAYBE 500 square feet BUT located 10 minutes (walking distance) from the library I will work at on campus. I cannot beat that. When I found out I got the job, I went tearing through the house screaming. I scared both cats although they shouldn’t have been bothered. I have witnessed many a time one or both of them tearing through the house in excitement. But not for finding jobs. Mainly for just dropping their kids off at the pool but you get the idea of what they encountered. We shared a moment.

WHERE is Matt is all of this? Well, here’s where things get a little crazy. He has been accepted into a special effects make-up program out in Monessen, PA. His program starts June 11, 2012 so of course, he would not want to move to Wellesley to just move to PA in a few months. So that means, I get dropped off in Wellesley and he comes back to good ol’ Lafayette to finish his servitude until we move him to his new location. His program is 22 months from June 11 so we won’t officially be living together in one place to AT LEAST February 2014.

Wow.

That even sounds like a long time.

But we knew this was going to happen as there was no way for us both to realize our dreams straight away with the other one in tow. That’s life kids. We have 10 years of marriage under our belts, and an awesome friendship. Neither of us is going astray on that regard.

Will it be hard? Of course. I won’t lie. I  will seriously miss his face but in the end, it will have been worth it.

Realizing your dreams is scary and sometimes you must do it alone. I think the time spent devoting our lives to our respective disciplines will be awesome…and honestly, a rarity. So why not savor it and enjoy it while it is here!

So, that’s my life’s update in a nutshell. It’s bittersweet because I leave some awesome family, friends, and co-workers behind. But, I’m going to MA not Jupiter so visits are totally doable.

Until next time,

eat carrots.

Comments
  1. barb says:

    Don’t forget to check out and report the pie situation. ;-D

Leave a Reply

