Did I mention I HATE packing?

Posted: December 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

In less than two weeks I will be rolling out of Indiana and headed towards Boston. I can’t believe how fast the time has gone. I found out I had the job in September and while I knew there would be a million things to do before I left, I didn’t expect it to be so intense.  First bout of craziness was going through my life and trying to figure out what I need to bring. My new place of residence is all of 325 square feet. Yes, that is not a typo. I am coming from a 2000 square foot house to something as big as my current bedroom. Holy balls Batman. I like to refer to my new place with the words “cozy” and “quaint” or as my mom pointed out, “less to clean.” I have been packing with the mindset of  “if I were stranded on a desert island what would I bring?”  Because well, I don’t have room for much. Just the essentials and things I can’t live without which are: (in no order of importance)

1.  Izzy.  He is coming with me and Edgar is staying with Matt. Not sure how this is going to work out with them separated but we will give a try. Worst case scenario, Edgar moves in with me. Which kinda goes against my whole philosophy of “pets should never out number humans in a common dwelling space.”

2. My journals. I can’t have them away from me. Not that I think anything would happen to them but they are such a big part of my life that I would feel amputated or something without them. So, two giant boxes of journals are making their way to Wellesley.

3.  An altar. It will be a mini-altar as I won’t have room for the big one but I still need a place to worship and pray. Plus, if I need to, I can store it out of the way.

4.  A painting from Matt. I don’t actually have it yet as this is what my Yule present will be from him. I wanted him to create something that really symbolized us and our life together.

5.  Ceramic Christmas tree that my mom gave me. I won’t have room for an actual tree so this one will have to suffice. I have to decorate for Yule/Christmas so this tree is coming with me.

6. The gnome Barbie gave me when I was studying for my GRE. This is my “Good Luck Gnomie” and I plan on putting him on my little porch.

7.  The peace lily from my dad’s funeral. I have literally watched this lily almost die and then resurrect itself at least a dozen times over the years. It only blooms when Matt and I have not argued in awhile. I know this sounds insane but it is totally true. I am interested to see how it blooms with us leaving apart.

8.  Miscellaneous other things like a futon, a toaster oven, clothes, a hot plate….you get the drift. But the first 7 are the most important items.

For the most part, packing for me is over. There are still some things to pack last minute because I am still using them but mostly, I’m done. It’s everything else that needs packing. Matt has to pack the entire house and move it. So we have three different packing schemes going on:

1.  To Wellesley

2.  To Monessen

3.  To Monessen..do not open.  These are items that we will need eventually but he won’t need them while in school.

Luckily for him, Monessen is 25% cheaper than Lafayette so he will be able to score a 2 bedroom home for $400 a month!  Yeah, I can’t even get a parking spot in Boston for that amount. But the plus side is, we won’t have to pay storage for all the extra stuff since he can move it with him and store it in his new place.

Second bout of craziness: saying the goodbyes. It seems like it is never ending. And well, the list continues to get longer. It’s not like I am leaving on vacation or anything, I mean, I am moving. Permanently. This puts a certain amount of weight on things. Some goodbyes are harder than others. Here are the top three:

1.  Matt. I can’t even fathom what this will feel like when I have to say goodbye to him in the Boston airport. I will probably need a sedative.

2.  Barbie. She has been my BFF since we were 11  years old. This will be the farthest we have ever lived apart and I can’t imagine not being an hour’s drive away.

3.  Elise. She was quite hysterical when we told her. This poor kid has had a rough life and I know part of her feels like I am abandoning her. It broke my heart to hurt her.

Of course, I will miss all my friends but these three are the most painful and the ones I have to be uber-strong for.

I had a wonderful goodbye party last Sunday and got to spend time with a lot of people. It was not a cryfest which was awesome but rather a good time drinking and eating and laughing. The way a goodbye party should be.

And lastly, the third bout of craziness:  the minute details. This is what is most nerve-wracking because I am not a fine detail person. Things like setting up a checking acc0unt, getting a driver’s license, forwarding mail, getting prescriptions from my current doctors, etc.  This just feels like busy work but it is necessary.

I know in the end, everything will be fine. It just feels like a huge mess right now and partly because I like organization. I like having a solid game plan and so much of my future right now is unknown. There are like 87 different unknown variables in this equation and it freaks me out. The bottom line is there is just no way to know ahead of time. I need to really accept that and move on instead of trying to force control on an uncontrollable situation.

So that’s my life right now in a nutshell. The holidays are fast approaching and that is only adding to my stress level. I am that weirdo that gets high off the Yule/Christmas cheer and I am enjoying it but part of me wishes that the holidays were not thrown into the mix. It only complicates everything.

The next time I blog I will be in Wellesley!  It feels strange to say that. It will feel even stranger to be there. Living there. Working there. Hopefully I can stay on top of this blog and really share with you my new adventures.

Until then, happy holidays!  May 2012 kick some serious ass.

Comments
  1. barb says:

    It will all work out. 🙂

  2. Erin says:

    great blog… i loved the list of important things. You will rock it in MA, though all of us in Indiana will miss you!
    – Erin

Leave a Reply

