All work and no play…..

Posted: January 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

I am coming away from my first two weeks of work…ya I know, what?? I think I am settling in quite nicely however I feel like there is not enough time in the day. I hit the ground running every single morning which starts at 8:30 (technically) however I arrive at 8:00 so I can settle in with my coffee and look over my calendar of events for the day. For those of you who have worked with me, you know I arrive early, I can’t be late for anything, ever. It’s just how I roll.  At approximately 9:00 every morning there is some meeting or the like that I must attend and then the day gets away from me.

What I discovered last week is if Matt had not been around and picking me up during my lunch hour, I would have worked through it. Why? I would have forgotten about eating. In fact, several days I left work and realized that I couldn’t remember actually using the restroom all day. I mean, seriously, with all that coffee how did I need wet myself? So this week my goal was to actually put in to my calendar, “lunch” otherwise I would schedule something during that time or realize that I had a meeting from 10:30 – 11:30 then a big orientation or something from 12:30 – 2:30. Whoa. Imagine my surprise when I see that if I had not caught it, I would have been eating lunch at 2:30. In reality, one of my new lucky coworkers would have found me passed out from fatigue somewhere. Curious as to what others did, I asked around and it appears almost everyone puts “lunch” in to their calendar. I am not sure if that is smart or sad. I’ll get back to you on that. In all honesty, I haven’t actually taken a proper lunch hour yet. My lunch hours have been used to do errands like get a debit card from my bank or drop off paperwork so I can have insurance. Start up the car so that it still loves me. I have yet to see the employee break room. That’s on my list of “things to do” next week for sure.

So I’m learning to pay attention to my day BEFORE it happens. I also have to remind myself every single day that “you have only been at this for two weeks.” Yes, I am a workaholic and I will want to build Rome in thirty seconds otherwise “what’s the point?” I need to pace myself and slow down. I think part of me is just so jazzed to be doing this job. I want to excel and be amazing. I don’t want to find out that I am actually a lemon. The other part of me is keeping busy as I am alone out here with my peeps over a 1,000 miles away. Idle hands, you know.

So what have I done in my short two weeks of work, which actually was only 7 working days total. Here are my accomplishments:

  • Attended four library tours.
  • Attended three orientations.
  • Attended three meetings of various committees I am on.
  • Attended one training session on Sakai/Google LMS.
  • Shadow reference desk for six hours total.
  • Shadow circulation desk for two hours.
  • Attended training session on 25live.
  • Attended library-wide goal setting talk.
  • Researched my four departments. Investigated the faculty and took notes based on their website profiles.
  • Constructed letters to each of my departments introducing myself and emailed it.
  • Met with the department head of Spanish.
  • Had phone conversation with the department head of Anthropology.
  • Had email conversations with the department head of Sociology.
  • Had conversation with Sociology faculty #1 on workshop I am teaching for her on February 23.
  • Had conversation with Sociology faculty member#2 on workshop I will teach sometime mid-semester.
  • Had conversation with Spanish faculty member #1 on lunch date.
  • Created libguide for course I am workshopping for on February 23.
  • Working on libguide for the other Sociology course.
  • Began lit review for the article I am writing with Erin Milanese.
  • Picked up two books on teaching information literacy and am reading and taking notes.

That is what I have done in the total of seven days. SEVEN days….and then I rested.

Actually, on my “down” time I have been reading “The Stand.” This is a book I have been meaning to read for years but have never committed myself to it. Why? It’s big, for one. And two, well, every time I start to read it, I feel sick. I mean, I start feeling like I have the flu or whatever they have in the book and I panic a little. But I am ready to push past that phobia and see how it all turns out. Maybe, I live. Who knows.

I am heading for a three day weekend. There is some shopping in my future today which requires quite an extensive travel route and laundry. Boo.

Until next time, don’t hug a cactus.

 

Comments
  1. Barb Stahura says:

    Wow, talk about hitting the ground running! That’s a lot of “dones” for the short time you’ve been there. Definitely schedule a lunch hour for yourself; sounds like you need to build in a couple bathroom breaks too. 🙂

  2. Barbie says:

    You are amazing and doing great and that makes me happy!

Leave a Reply

