Suck it up Buttercup

Posted: January 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

I realize it has been a million years since I last blogged. Okay, it was in September but still, that is a long ass time. I wish I had some amazing excuse like I cured cancer or took a walk on the moon. Nope. I just didn’t think about it. In fact, the thought never even crossed my damn mind until five seconds ago after a powerful shot of Kah tequila. All of a sudden I was like, “Hey, what ever happened to that blog thingie that I was writing in?” So, here I am.

Samhain came and went without much ado. Sure, Salem was like Bourbon Street on a Friday night for the whole month of October but for the most part, I managed. The crowds were annoying yet fun. The traffic was annoying yet awful. The weather was mostly nice until Hurricane Sandy decided that she too would like some Halloween festivities and the town sort of lost some of its tourist population. Honestly, I was okay with that. While I enjoyed the craziness of Salem during October, I was happy to see November roll in and the tourists roll/drive/fly/crawl/walk away.

There is nothing better than walking around Salem during “off season.” While the holidays were fast approaching, the tourists did not really visit. It was mostly us locals enjoying all the holiday decorations. The Christmas tree that was put up in Lappin Park was beautiful and majestic. I was slightly pissed that I missed it going up. I spent Thanksgiving in Monessen with Matt and thought for sure that the city tree would not go up until at least the first weekend in December. Oh, how wrong I was. The damn thing arrived the day AFTER Thanksgiving meaning I wasn’t a part of the singing and caroling that surrounds the event. Maybe next year. I did however manage to see Santa arrive onto the rooftop of the Hawthorne Hotel. I admit it was a little terrifying as it was raining outside and I thought what would happen if he simply slipped while walking down the ladder attached to the firetruck? Would the dozens of the kids waiting for his descent be traumatized forever? Would it be slightly funny? Would I laugh or cry? Luckily, no tragedies happened and we were all able to see Santa firmly plant two feet on the ground and quickly scurry off to drink or whatever Santa does when he needs private time. I also was surprised to witness the lighting of the Christmas tree in the Common’s Gazebo. I was not expecting this so I was happy to know I at least saw one official tree lighting during the holiday season.

As much as I like buying gifts for my loved ones, I had no money. No, seriously, Matt and I are practically flat ass broke. So we set a limit for each other at $100. The only people that I bought for were my nieces, my nephew, and some various friends. Other than that, holiday shopping was a bust and probably will be until Matt and I merge households again. I admit, it was nice to not have all the holiday pressure of having to find “the perfect gift.” Instead this year it was about spending time with people. Matt and I decided to journey to Indiana and spend time with my mom, nieces, and friends. The nieces had no idea we were even coming so you can imagine the screaming and carrying on that happens when you surprise a 14 year old and a 6 six year old! Deafness for about two hours. But we had a blast playing board games and talking, laughing, and just catching up.

Truth to be told, I am tired. I have spent a glorious three weeks with Matt here in Monessen that has flown by. I can’t even tell you how fast it all went. In a blur. In a blink of an eye. In whatever cliche you can come up with; apply it here. Then travels to Indiana and seeing friends and having wonderful conversations and good food and drink. The holidays of 2012 were awesome. Sure, I was slightly bummed that the end of the world did not happen on December 21. In a way I was looking forward to a zombie invasion and the ability to chain smoke cigarettes without really worrying about my health. But we move forward. With dreams of zombies and machettes and yes, cigarettes and tequila.

So tomorrow I head back to Salem. I am ready to start 2013 with a bang. Okay, maybe not a bang but a slightly loud binging sound. Something that won’t scare Izzy and make him hide under the futon. I am ready to just get this shit going and get it done. I know how quickly 2012 went. I have officially been employed at Wellesley College for a year and one day. Damn. Yes, that went by in a blur. I accomplished awesome things, made great friends, and realized what I am made of. More than stuffing and buttons, and organs, and sunshine. I am made of bravery and confidence, worry, and determination. I am made of awesomeness that will lead me to great things with Matt.

So 2013, here I am. With bells on and other shiny sparkly things. Here’s to Matt and I making more of our dreams come true even if it means doing them apart, in different cities and states. Here’s to furthering my professional development at work and being a more kickass librarian. Here’s to Matt creating more gruesome and realistic FX makeups and getting the notice and recognition he deserves. Heres’ to Izzy not throwing up so much and for Edgar to finally lose some of his fatness. Damn that fat shit cat is fat.

Here’s to good tequila and friends. Sunshine and thunderstorms, good wine and nice walks by the water. Here’s to living.

And  as Wooderson would say, “I just keep livin. L-I-V-I-N.”

Comments
  1. Barb says:

    I loved the visuals of the tourist departing (flying…down here they mostly limp/crawl) and Santa’s arrival. Congratulations on a most successful 2012 in both your career and self-awareness! Hoping for an even better 2013.

Leave a Reply

